A History (& a view) Like None Other
OLV School has been blessed with a rich history, one that dates all the way back to 1895. That year, Father Nelson Baker opened the school to serve members of what was then known as St. Patrick's Parish. Classes were held in a simple two-story building with 56 students in its first year of operation.
In 1906, it was renamed Our Lady of Victory School. At that time, more than 150 children were enrolled. More growth led to the need for a new building which was opened in 1921. That same year, something special happened.
"In the Shadow of the Dome"
Students who attended OLV School between 1921 and 1926 had front-row seats to history as the OLV National Shrine & Basilica was constructed right next door! The Basilica's cornerstone was laid in August of 1921, work on it was completed in time for Christmas Mass in 1925 and it was consecrated in May of 1926.
To this day, having the Basilica -- such an iconic monument to Mary, the Blessed Mother under the title Our Lady of Victory, and a pillar of our Catholic faith -- in the school's "backyard" is a tremendous benefit to all students. Within its hallowed spaces, they are regular attendees (and participants) at Mass and are often given the chance to learn more about art, architecture, history and Christianity through "field trips" that explore the many wondrous works of art within.
As the Basilica is a "must-see" for Western New Yorkers of all faiths, it is such for all of our students, regardless of their religious beliefs.
Click below to learn more about our founder, Venerable Nelson Baker, and OLV National Shrine & Basilica.